Story Pitch

News. Views. Reviews.

bullet train corridors in India

Picture for representation only. (Photo: Pixabay)

After Ahmedabad-Mumbai, 7 more bullet train corridors in India?

If all goes well, apart from the Ahmedabad-Mumbai route, India will soon see bullet train corridors running on seven prominent new routes. Railways have assigned the work for the preparation of Detailed Project Report (DPR) for the seven new High-Speed Rail (HSR) corridors to National High-Speed Rail Corporation Limited (NHSRCL). Currently, work has started on India’s first bullet train Ahmedabad.

As per reports, these routes include high-speed corridors from Delhi to Varanasi (via Noida, Agra, Kanpur and Lucknow), Mumbai to Nagpur (via Nasik ), Mumbai to Hyderabad (via Pune), from Chennai to Mysore (via Bangalore) and Delhi to Amritsar (via Chandigarh, Ludhiana and Jalandhar).

Seven new bullet train corridors identified in India

1) Delhi-Noida-Agra-Kanpur-Lucknow-Varanasi: 865 KM

2) Delhi-Jaipur-Udaipur-Ahmedabad: 886 km

3) Mumbai-Nasik-Nagpur: 753 KM

4) Mumbai-Pune-Hyderabad: 711 KM

5) Chennai-Bangalore-Mysore: 435 KM

6) Delhi-Chandigarh-Ludhiana-Jalandhar-Amritsar: 459 KM

7) Varanasi-Patna-Howrah: 760 KM

However, none of these seven High-Speed corridors have been sanctioned as yet. The decision on sanctioning any HSR project depends on the outcome of the Detailed Project Report, techno-economic feasibility, availability of resources and financing options.

The preparation of DPRs is still in progress and alignment/route for the corridors has not been finalised yet. This information was given by the Minister of Railways Piyush Goyal in a written reply to a question in Lok Sabha today.

As per some media reports, some of these new corridors will be implemented with the public-private-partnership (PPP) model.

Ahmedabad-Mumbai Bullet Train corridor

The Ahmedabad-Mumbai Bullet Train corridor will be a 508 km long high-speed train corridor. It will be based on Japan’s E5 Shinkansen technology. The bullet train will run at an average speed of 320 km per hour with a maximum speed of 350 km per hour. has been sanctioned with a target to be completed by 2023. After the completion of this project, the distance between Mumbai and Ahmedabad will be completed in just 2 hours.

What are bullet or high-speed trains?

A railway system designed for speeds above 250 kmph is generally called high-speed trains. Only 16 nations have high-speed railways. China boasts the world’s longest network with 27,000km of such tracks.

Also Read | One Rail One Helpline: Dial 139 for all Railway enquiries